Disaster-affected homes in Louisiana granted 90-day moratorium on foreclusores for delinquent borrowers

Louisiana: Residents whose homes were affected by the storms have been granted a 90-day moratorium on foreclosures and forbearance on foreclosures of Federal Housing Administration (FHA)-insured home mortgages.

The foreclosure moratorium only applies to delinquent borrowers. Those residents current on payments are encouraged to continue to make those payments on time; though late fees may be waived if payments could be delayed due to the disaster.

Residents can only gain the 90-day moratorium if they have contacted their lenders and provided documentation to establish whether they are viable to receive the moratorium benefits.

Current disaster areas declared are: Acadia, Ascension, Avoyelles, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Evangeline, Iberia, Iberville, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, Livingston, Point Coupee, St. Helena, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Vermilion, Washington, and West Feliciana.

U.S. Housing and Urban Development Secretary Julián Castro said, “Families who may have been forced from their homes need to know that help is available to begin the rebuilding process. Whether it’s foreclosure relief for FHA-insured families or helping these counties to recover, HUD stands ready to help in any way we can.”




Ascent combines focused research and centralized operations oversight to create innovative outsourced solutions for code enforcement violations, vacant property registration ordinances, property preservation, and other vendor management needs from across the United States.